The Creative Commons Australia Chapter started out in 2005 as CC Australia, an official affiliate of Creative Commons.

CC Australia was responsible for coordinating the activities of the Chapter and administering the Australian CC licences. Prior to 2018, CC Australia was run by three Australian bodies with joint responsibility for the project:

  • 2005–2018: Queensland University of Technology – responsible for the Legal, GLAM, Private & Creative Sectors under the leadership of Emeritus Professor Tom Cochrane, Professor Brian Fitzgerald and Professor Nicolas Suzor.
  • 2015–2018: The Australian Governments’ Open Access and Licensing Programme (AusGOAL) – responsible for Publicly Funded Information under the leadership of Baden Appleyard.
  • 2015–2018: The National Copyright Unit (NCU) to the Copyright Advisory Group, COAG Education Council – responsible for the Education sector under the leadership of Delia Browne.
  • In 2017 Creative Commons shifted from the Affiliate Program to a Global Network Structure, establishing a model of country Chapters. In 2018 Australia became the first country to create its own Chapter in the Creative Commons Global Network.